Someone said once "Don't hang your dirty laundry in public" or something to that effect. WHY you would hang dirty laundry, instead of clean laundry to dry, is beyond me- but what I can tell from that statement is... there's no need to talk about anything too personal. Welcome to the diary of generic girly thoughts.
Diaryland - Newest - Older - Guestbook - Profile

2005-07-17 - 11:12 p.m. - WalMart.

the highlight of my day today was a trip to wal mart.
i got up real late. cleaned lyle's cage cos he has been a dirty little gerbil lately. mom got lyle a litterbox for small rodents... haha. she thought it was the best thing ever.
then I spent a really long time cutting out pictures from fashion magazines- I have decided to dedicate a wall, or some of it anyway, to Parsons. I have printed out everything on the Parson's sight that involves their fashion design program, along with the Alumni list- which includes, and is NOT limited to- Marc Jacobs, Donna Karan, Narciso Rodriguez, the designers of Proenza Schouler (who actually did not graduate-technically- but they're incredibly successful).
and I am going through magazines, finding features on these designers and cutting those out. My wall will be amazing, but I'm upset cos I forgot to buy tape tonight.
Anyhow, then I went to work. And it was a waste of time for a bit.
then WALMART!!! AAHHhhh. I was upset to see that they don't sell Harper's Bazaar magazine- the only worthwhile magazine on the planet because it has NOTHING about "ooohhh is angelina gonna marry brad and adopt34 chinese orphans? is jen going to slit brad's throat? what about britney, is kevin leaving the bitch?"...bazaar is all about fashion, from cover to cover- fashion and trends. It is wonderous.
but yea, at walmart, i got a LOT of fabric. most was on sale. the only things I got that were not on sale were my lace and ribbon to finish my nice shirt for my Parson's interview. Also- I like the look of boleros, but there is NO way I'm paying 40 bucks and up for one when I can just MAKE one for like 2 bucks (1 dollar a yard fabric. fuuuccckk yes.)
And then there was a bunch of stuff that I don't know what I'm doing with it yet- I just loved it so I got some.
Mom wants me to look at Pratt university. Alright. Firstly- It's in Brooklyn. Yuck. Second- it's named after some guy who invented house paint. Ok?? May as well.
Parson's, to me...is dreamy. So many magazines have talked about it, and it makes me happy that I found it in a completely different way. I was actually LOOKING for Pratt- on google- but I made a typo and Parson's popped up as a result, so I checked it out...not actually thinking I'd be interested at all.
Fate? Fate.
Anyway- I must share one of my pet peeves/sad annoyances.
So. I not only love making clothes- but I love wearing them, and I love finding new things and new, crazy ways to wear them.
So, for some reason...it seems that the things I like to wear ultimately end up in fashion magazines.
This is not saying that I dictate what is in fashion. That is absolutely rediculous. It's just..a huge coincidence? Or possibly, I have a gift/curse for just liking and KNOWING what is coming.
For example. Everyone remember my "grandma" dresses of the end of the schoolyear? Ha, well, I didn't call them that. Some people who fell off of the Abercrombie sale rack did. Yea, stuff like that is now all over certain designer's fall collections. Whoda thunk it?
And last month, I went on a random tight-buying spree on ebay..thinking, I can't wait to wear some crazy tights for the fall as accent colors-
and guess the fuck what? tights are all fucking over. AAHGHGhggghh! This means, that in a few months- everyone is going to be wearing them, but they will look horrible on mostly everyone. Because, for some reason- people think they can wear things that they really can't. This is how trends diminish- they begin to look bad, and so no one wears them anymore-leaving the ones that still do looking even worse than they did in the first place.
Anyhow. Clothing is probably one of the only things that I get bitchy about. I hate it when people copy off of me. So much. I wear what appeals to me- and unfortunately for me, a lot of what appeals to me ends up being in fashion later -(my giftcurse)- and if it wasn't YOUR idea, then you are unoriginal anyway and I don't like you. Find your own style.
Anyhow, I'm off to finish my shirt- and maybe start on something new. And I dunno if I should call Matt or not- I don't think he has called me all day, so he sucks.


0 comments so far

Previous - Next

bipolar eh - 5:46 a.m. , 2006-04-29

dar - 12:33 p.m. , 2006-04-17

fun - 12:29 a.m. , 2006-02-20

Pittsburgh over Seahawks 21-10 Superbowl XL - 8:22 a.m. , 2006-02-08

dreamin - 9:46 p.m. , 2005-12-18