Someone said once "Don't hang your dirty laundry in public" or something to that effect. WHY you would hang dirty laundry, instead of clean laundry to dry, is beyond me- but what I can tell from that statement is... there's no need to talk about anything too personal. Welcome to the diary of generic girly thoughts.
Diaryland - Newest - Older - Guestbook - Profile

2001-05-31 - 12:48 a.m. - V.C. Andrews and Flowers in the Attic.

I was just a'surfin around diaryland (perfect place to go when a little boredom needs killing) when I thought I'd check up on one of my fave wuthors since sixth grade, V.C. Andrews. LOL.

The comments people put abou her WERE true, there IS and average of 2.5 (making this up...) sexual scenes per book, but that's not what I read them for. I read those books because jsut the way she writes, she's so talented (and, yes, dead)....

I don't like the new 'adapted author style' books where they have people who can write LIKE her write them. Well, they're not HER, just LIKE her. Why don't they write their OWN books!?

I mean, we all have plenty of others to live on. Has anyone read My Sweet Audrina? I haven't, been to busy with the Dollanganger and Hudson series. I just started Wildflowers, and i must admit, the analogies about 'storms, rain, rainbows and clouds' are getting kind of repetative.

and the girls noticing the size of other women's breasts! I don't remember reading much about THAT in Flowers in the Attic. anyone reading my diary who has no yet heard of V.C. Andrews (where have YOU been!?) I strongly suggest that you read her older books, because they're just, GOOD. and I mean it. here, I'll give you a little from flowers in the attic. (This is from Cathy's (I think she's about 11) point of view. she is in the attic of her grandfather's huge mansion with her grandmother and her Mother. Her brothers, Christopher (about 13) and Corey and her sister, Carrie, who are twins around the age of, well, I forget but I know they're toddlers.)

"The old woman turned her hard gaze on me, then on Christopher. "Now hear this," she began like a drill sergeant, "it will be up to you two older children to keep the younger ones quiet. Keep this always in your minds: if your grandfather learns too soon you are up here, then he will throw all of you without one red penny-after he has severely punished you for being alive! You will not yell, or cry, or run about pounding on the ceilings below. When your mother and I leave this room tonight, I will close and lock the door behind me. Until the day your grandfather dies, you don't really exist,"

Oh, God! This can't be true! She was lying, wasn't she? Saying mean things just to scare us. I tried to look at Momma, but she had turned her back and her head was lowered, but her shoulders sagged and quivered as if she was crying.

Panic filled me..."

~V.C. Andrews, Flowers in the Attic.

That was the first book by her I ever read, and it was just amazing. I really recommend it.

maybe some other day I'll give you parts from the Hudson or Wildflower series.

For now I'm going to go read a little more, these books are truly awesome.

0 comments so far

Previous - Next

bipolar eh - 5:46 a.m. , 2006-04-29

dar - 12:33 p.m. , 2006-04-17

fun - 12:29 a.m. , 2006-02-20

Pittsburgh over Seahawks 21-10 Superbowl XL - 8:22 a.m. , 2006-02-08

dreamin - 9:46 p.m. , 2005-12-18