Someone said once "Don't hang your dirty laundry in public" or something to that effect. WHY you would hang dirty laundry, instead of clean laundry to dry, is beyond me- but what I can tell from that statement is... there's no need to talk about anything too personal. Welcome to the diary of generic girly thoughts.
Diaryland - Newest - Older - Guestbook - Profile

2003-03-23 - 7:12 p.m. - Basketball game/Sunday after

THAT BASKETBALL GAME WAS INCREDIBLE

First Off. We kicked some ass.

WOW I could go on and on about how amazing it was and all the things that happened,

you know what? I think I will.

OKAY...so I go to Target to meet Andrea and Lauren at 4:30. We're a little giddy and Andrea looks for a shirt while Lauren and I went to look for make up. We had to hurry because we were meeting Conor and Will at 5. We went to the school and hung around, then met the guys. The buses came and we got in line for one, and then we were like, nah, let's get the next one. So we did.

I felt like I was in a horrible teen movie.

Andrea, Lauren, Conor, Will and I watched many things happen after we got on the bus:

A whole bunch of hot guys get on the bus we were GOING to get on

The whole softball team, that's right, a HUGE GROUP OF GIGGLING FEMALES gets on our bus. And then some girls that Conor doesn't like get on our bus. And of course, some other people get on the other bus, some of our friends, and that one kid.

So at first I was a litle angered at the bus prospect. Then, after a while, it was fun. Hanjoo came, which was cool.

Soon it felt like it was just us, just the 6 of us hanging out. It was only the beggining of the trip so the girls were happy and not talking to us which was cool. We had some crazy times on the bus, Conor pulled me in random directions, he tried to draw on Lauren's face but it turned out horribly. She wiped it off with her spit- see- she wanted an SC on her face. He drew this HUGE S, and then a teeny weeny 'c' below her ear.

It was funny.

Andrea had a 50cent CD, or maybe it was Will, but we all listened to it and had fun with it. Hanjoo rapped along, it was horribly funny.

THEN we got to Giant Stadium. I thought it was a supermarket that we were just passing until everyone was like "WE'RE HERE!!!". They announced that we had to ride the same buses back, which gave me agonizing thoughts of being with those girls 2 hours home.

Preppy softball girls in large numbers is never good.

Anyhow, it was really exciting. We got off the bus and Lauren needed to buy a ticket. Andrea, Conor and Will kind of went inside while Lauren and I got her ticket. They gave her one that was in some random section. We went in- it was crowded! I saw a LOT of people in green which made me think that Chester's colors were green. (I didn't know at the time) But, they were orange. Why there was a lot of green, I'll never know. They were all white kids, but at the time I didn't know that Chester was a primarily black school. We found our seats, (Lauren came with us). Conor was sitting somewhere close to the court, while Will, Andrea, Lauren, Hanjoo and I were about in the same section. Mark, That small kid, David, his random friend and his other random friend (Robby?) Were next to us, which was cool. Most of them ended up moving up where they were standing. Meg called me up there so I stood with all of them. Screaming and complaining about the reffs, putting our arms up for our free-throws, booing at the Chester's free throws- it was an amazing game. The reffs were horrible! They called us on SO much and barely called Chester on anything at all. We had overtime, tied at 60, and we won with something like 73 to 68. It was an awesome game.

NOW to the gang fights.

During halftime, Lauren, Andrea, Kevin Smith (who used to go to Chester) Conor, Will and I went to the concession stand. I got cheese fries and a water bottle (but they wouldn't give me the cap, which was WEIRD. They said it was for safety reasons.)

Losers.

Anyhow, Will and Conor randomly disappeared, leaving Andrea, Lauren, Kevin and I. We walked through the crowds of people, I was happy with my friends, Andrea seemed sort of quiet, and Lauren and Kevin were talking about this and that. We stopped over by a cookie stand, where a whole bunch of Chester people were coming in and out. I'm not racist at all, but it WAS a little intimidating, all the black people, big and tall, walking around. They weren't throwing any mean glances or being rude or anything, it was just a little scary. Andrea ran off then came back randomly, which was funny. So. We were standing there, I was eating my fries, (along with Lauren and Kevin). We were all just talking when, all of a sudden, thise huge mass of black people comes running down then corridor. Luckilly, we were in a crevice next to the cookie stand so we weren't in the corridor they were running through. Someone picked up a pole and was throwing it around. There were women, men, all running, screaming, laughing. The black women seemed to think it was horribly funny- they kept saying "OH, damn! hahah... sheeit, ..!"

Andrea wasn't scared at all, she stood near the front and just watched, expressionless. She had her reasons.

I was excited and a little scared. I pretended to be more afraid than I actually was, although Kevin made a big deal of it. He rushed Lauren and I into a corner and said "come on, get back, this is serious". I think he saw a gun. Lauren was half laughing, half freaking out. That's kind of what I was doing to, along with eating my fries.

Yeah, the fries were good.

It calmed down and we tried to get back to our seats. Lauren and I were very shaken, and Kevin asked "Why you scerred? Don't be scerred!" Lauren was like "I'm not SCERRED!!"

We each walked our different ways back to the seats. I kept having the urge to chuck my topless waterbottle at something, only to say "It slipped out of my hand and didn't have a cap on it- I didn't MEAN to soak all the people infront of me!"

So, after much screaming, as I said, halftime and free throws and Chester and fun, the game was over. I walked out with Conor, who was with that Tim Ranish kid. He's a little different, I can see why him and Conor are tight.

They hurried us out of the stadium because they were afraid of a riot from some Chester Philly gang people. We got on our buses, and saw police dogs and policemen, all running about. It was INCREDIBLY frightening, seeing all those black kids come out from the stadium. Most of them probably had nothing to do with the gangs at all... but it was still scary.

In the midst of all that insanity, all the state college kids with the bus windows pulled down, screaming things like "YEAH STATE!" and other indecipherable drivel, I felt this huge wave of unity. The cops were marching around and screaming at us to close our windows. They yelled at one of the girls and she got all pissed and kept bitching about it for about an hour later.

Anyhow, I was sitting with Conor, behind Andrea and Will, next to Lauren, who was behind Hanjoo. I felt so safe and secure inside the bus, as if none of those gang people, or any other evil could harm us. I looked outside, to the highway and the darkness, the wilderness, and I curled up into a ball next to Conor, and whimpered. He just looked at me like I had a mental problem.

On the ride back, I was actually happy to be on the bus I was on. If we were on the other one, I would have been trying to act all 'cool' and impress people.

Andrea, Lauren and I had some great conversations. It often amazes me how profound and deep they can both be, how they open up doors in my mind that I never thought were there.

Andrea gave us her opinions on the gang fight, and it all made sense. It was one of those things where I thought it in my head, but couldn't put it to words. She did. She has a knack for doing that sort of thing, and it's amazing. I've never met anyone who could know so much about a person's character when they've only talked once. She's very perceptive.

Then, Lauren and I had a conversation about life, boys, and values. She explains things to me that I always knew as facts, but didn't want to admit them- things that any confident person knows. Lauren is one of those people that makes me feel secure and good enough on the inside and the outside. I don't have to be pretty to be her friend. She makes me realize that looks don't matter- as long as you are respectful and nice to everyone, you will go far. She's gotten so much more secure with herself this year- probably because of all the bad things she had to go through last year.

I have the greatest friends.

People would drive by the bus and moon it, or open their van door or roll down a window and scream such things as "GO STATE!' and "STATE KICKS ASS!". Normally those things would be seen as immature, but it only enforced the unity that our winning the State Championship had created.

For the first time ever, I felt school spirit for State College. The pep rallies were always fun, and it was great wearing my State shirt and being prideful for my school- but I never really felt it. I still had reminensce of USC pride, and some bits of KILL MOUNT NITTANY in me- but now It's all State.

It might be a while before I get all fan-ish for PENN state, though. They've kinda sucked and I was never into college football anyhow.

Back to the bus ride.

We all had good times. While Andrea and I were talking, Will and Conor played the penis game, the vagine game, the 'yell random words at people' game, and other things. They didn't get our attention, but it was funny anyhow.

I feel like I have a closer bond with the people who were on that bus. We spent a little over four hours with each other, talking, laughing and being stupid. I hadn't really talked much to Conor in quite some time, so it was great to hang out with him. I never knew Will too well, and I still don't, but I do feel closer to him- along with Hanjoo. I was already pretty close with Andrea and Lauren, but I feel a tighter bond now, from the time we've spent and the conversations we have had.

The softball girls were pretty bitchy to Lauren- I already wrote it out once and Diaryland deleted it, so I don't feel much like writing it again. It was pretty mean.

We arrived back at the school around 12:30. Dad gave Andrea a ride home, then when I got home I totally crashed. Tired out of my mind.

The game was an incredible experience, I'm so happy I went.

We went to church this morning, nothing special

then to Prospecter's- it's a pretty sweet restaraunt. The chicken fingers are good.

Every time I go out like that with my family, I feel like a little kid again. Dad plays hangman and mom talks about random things, Teddy is himsef, and it's all ...great. Sometimes I miss that whole family thing.

Went home and sat around for a while, then I went tanning- this time to the one behind blockbuster.

Unfortunately, the new tanning lotion I got said it was a "quick tanner"- they did NOT make it obvious enough that that meant THIS HAS A BONZER IN IT!. I don't think I look ORANGE or anything, because it was not a strong color at ALL, it was almost translucent. I don't like it, though. Bonzer=Bad.

At dinner, I told mom she should get the Australian Gold lotion for us, because it's awesome and it's the stuff I wanted from the beggining- and dad flipped out about me wanting a new lotion every week.

My father has a rage problem, and it bothers me because I see it in myself from time to time. I don't want to take after it.

Anyhow. I've spent a million years writing this, we went to Wal*Mart- I got slim fast bars, and a lock for my new locker.

The war is over- you know- that huge big fightey thing. You'd beleive it too, because Jes even talked to be and it was weird and cool at the same time because we had never really talked before. Sasha and I are talking again. It's just, good, because who needs that? You know? And! It's spring! So, things are looking up.

Who is peaksthtruth? He has a price hanging over his head, seeing as he hates everyone. SO. Reward for anyone who knows who he is- you'll get a biskit.

Ha Ha.

Anyway, Tomorrow is gonna be good, I can feel it- I'm out-

Liz

0 comments so far

Previous - Next

bipolar eh - 5:46 a.m. , 2006-04-29

dar - 12:33 p.m. , 2006-04-17

fun - 12:29 a.m. , 2006-02-20

Pittsburgh over Seahawks 21-10 Superbowl XL - 8:22 a.m. , 2006-02-08

dreamin - 9:46 p.m. , 2005-12-18